Derek Nash

DEREK NASH, born in Stockport, is a jazz saxophonist — he plays alto, soprano, tenor & baritone – a band leader and recording engineer.  For over thirty years, he has led Sax Appeal, which won the John Dankworth Award for Ensemble in the 1998 BT Jazz Awards, and subsequently the British Jazz Award for best small group in 2000.  He also leads the funk/fusion band Protect the Beat.  He has been a member of the Jools Holland Rhythm and Blues Orchestra since 2004.  After studying electroacoustics at Salford University, Nash became a sound engineer at the BBC in 1982, leaving in 2002 to become a full-time musician and to set up his own recording studio.  His Clowns Pocket Recording Studio has been used by many British musicians to record, mix and master albums including Jamie Cullum, George Melly, Stan Tracey, Tony Remy, Georgie Fame, Dave O’Higgins, Evelina De Lain, Geoff Gascoyne and many others.

Nash has performed with David Sanborn, John Dankworth, Dick Morrissey, Spike Robinson, Humphrey Lyttelton, Paul McCartney, Eric Clapton, Annie Lennox, Madeleine Peyroux, Roger Daltrey, Tom Jones, Dave Grusin, John Etheridge, Russell Ferrante, Oscar Castro Neves, Clare Teal, Jamie Cullum, Alan Barnes, Dave Green, Charlie Watts, George Melly, Shakatak, Lulu, Alison Moyet, Clark Tracey, Alec Dankworth, Ben Waters, Digby Fairweather and Jools Holland.

In 2012, the “Joyriding” album by the Derek Nash Acoustic Quartet was awarded ‘Best Album of the Year’.